Translation example from OpenNMT documentation

I am new to OpenNMT and somewhat new to neural networks thus I am starting out by working with the example “translation” task from the OpenNMT documentation. My configuration is identical to what is shown in the example and I am using the dataset download script identified in the example which is using Common Crawl, Europarl, and News Commentary. I think from WMT14 and then validation and test data from WMT17.

Anyway, my config is mostly identical to the config included in the example (I changed the GPU settings from using 2 GPUs to using 1 GPU). I am running the training on a single GPU (AWS K80). My problem is that it’s been running for a few days now and the performance scores are no longer increasing. At around step 68200 it reported an acc of 51.84 and a ppl of 8.98. The highest value was around step 73600.

[2021-09-07 06:42:23,563 INFO] Step 73600/100000; acc: 53.18; ppl: 8.09; xent: 2.09; lr: 0.00033; 2776/2980 tok/s; 228796 sec

Now, it just sort of flip/flops around 49 to 53 with a ppl around 10. It is still running as it has not reached the full 100k steps, but the stats look worse…

[2021-09-07 21:29:15,271 INFO] Step 90700/100000; acc: 49.64; ppl: 9.61; xent: 2.26; lr: 0.00029; 2756/2958 tok/s; 282008 sec

Has anybody had experience with this particular example? Is there something I should have tweaked given I am running on 1 GPU rather than 2? The only thing I did change from the example yaml was the GPU lines. The original uses two GPUs:

world_size: 2
gpu_ranks: [0, 1]

I replaced the above with the following:

world_size: 1
gpu_ranks: [0]