Question about English to Chinese

Hi there, this is Kehan I am new to NMT, and I found some questions when I use OpenNMT-tf to build a model that translates English to Chinese.

Problem Description:
When conducting English to Chinese translation training in OpenNMT-tf, I used command onmt-build-vocab to build vocabulary dictionary with default tokenizer in the first place. If the sentences in original target training/evaluation file (Chinese sentence file) are not splited word by word (In a Chinese sentence, the characters are consecutive without Spaces), the whole sentence propably appear in the vocab dictionary file as one word. After one round of training, I tried to infer the translation result with my model, and the most of target sentences are .

1. first try: build the Chinese vocab dictionary file use another Chinese tokenizer to get a seems correct file, but keep the Chinese training/evalution file as origin (not put space between words), the inference result sentence is still .
  2. second try: processs the training/evalution file, tokenize the sentences in these file and use space to splite words (“巴黎 - 随着 经济危机 不断 加深 和 蔓延 , 整个 世界 一直 在 寻找 历史 上 的 类似 事件 希望 有助于 我们 了解 目前 正在 发生 的 情况 ”), Chinese sentences are inferred, but there is a lot of repeated words (“因此 , 我们 的 是 , 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 如果 不是 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 我们 的 , 我们 所 看到 。”) .

Detail Question:

1. If word tokenizer or sentence splitting should be applied to the sentences in the Chinese training/evalution file (Chinese sentences are continuous without space) ?
  2. If onmt-build-vocab’s default tokenizer are sufficent to tokenize English sentence?
  3. If Chinese sentence splitting is necessary, in my second try, do I need to improve the number of training iteration or change some training parameters, like batch_size or feature/lable length, to avoid lots of repeated words and get a better result?