Larger Vocab = Worse BLEU?

Hello, All.

I’m brand new to OpenNMT and this community. First off, thank you to all those who have built this amazing tool.

After following the tutorial to train the wmt_ende model with with Opennmt-Tf, I ventured out on my first solo flight and built two models using the translation memories from “84,000” (https://84000.co/). This group is translating ancient Buddhist texts from Tibetan into English by hand but still save their translation memories for those who want to venture into NMT.

I first created a model that can translate from Tibetan into English (and also separate model to go from English into Tibetan).The number of translation memories is about 275,000–what I figured was a reasonable sample size for training/validation/testing. I was able to train all of my models to completion (i.e., until achieving early stops based on a plateaued BLEU score).

I have two questions that I’m turning to this community for guidance:
1)
For the model that translates from Tibetan to English, I started with SentencePiece model of 8k, then build one with a vocab of 16K and then one with a vocab of 32K. Each time my BLEU score increased a bit and maxed out around 29. I wasn’t thrilled but it at least allows me to start comparing manual translations with NMT translations. Of course I was certainly hoping for a higher score but wasn’t sure what to experiment with next. Can anyone provide any guidance or advice on what best practices are for trying other available models in Opennmt, hyperparameter tuning or other idea so that I can keep raising my score?