Extract / Dissect / Freeze Transformer's Encoder Decoder Components

Hello Community,

I am currently working on reproducing some low-resource neural machine translation approach from Kim et al. 2019, where a pivot language was introduced as a bridge between source and target, and some kind of transfer learning is utilized to improve translation results. For this Kim et al. first train the src-pivot model on a shared src-pivot vocabulary, freeze/extract their encoder, and afterwards train their pivot-tgt model using the first encoder. Finally, the encoder of the first step and the decoder of the second step are being assembled into a third, final model that is trained on the src-tgt corpus. To be honest, I do not really expect to improve on their results but as a student I rather wish to learn about the whole process.

Currently, I am trying to use the opennmt-py library to obtain these models and components. I have managed to get a BPE model+vocab with the help of SentencePiece and produced the first model.pt files from my data and am now wondering if I will be able to assemble said 3rd, final model with the help of the torch library. I am wondering if something like this pseudo-code is too naive or basically the right way as long as I correctly identify the corresponding components.

# Load the model
src_pivot_checkpoint = torch.load(src_pivot_model_path)
pivot_tgt_checkpoint = torch.load(pivot_tgt_model_path)

# Create a new model combining src-pivot encoder and pivot-tgt decoder
final_model = {
    'encoder': src_pivot_checkpoint['model']['encoder'],
    'decoder': pivot_tgt_checkpoint['model']['decoder']
}

Has someone done something similar with openNMT and can share some directions or experiences? Is this similar to domain adaption? I’d really like to learn more about the process so any hints are welcome :slight_smile: ! Sadly, all forum posts I could find on the topic did not have any replies or I just did not look for the right thing.