[Code Understanding] Where are different models 'used' in the source?

Hello!

As a disclaimer, I am relatively new to ML, NLP and OpenNMT, but I of course have a strong desire to learn. I’ve learned about LSTMs, and now want to peer into OpenNMT’s implementation of them.

I am interested in understanding, from an implementation perspective, how the underlying source uses different models during things like training. In particular, I am interested in the LSTM model being used (the specifics of it, as the documentation doesn’t give much details) and how it is implemented (and then used).

I have found the LSTM.lua file, but it seems like this file is only for building the units and stacking them (to make blocks) and to build layers out of those blocks. In other words, it seems like this file contains only code for building the model, not actually running training/inference/etcetera.

What I can’t seem to find is the code in which this model is actually used in training and/or predicting.

Please let me know if I’ve been incorrect in anything I’ve said, and of course, if you could provide any insight on how the code is working! Resources or tips for how I can wrap my head around the codebase in general would also be greatly appreciated! And, of course, if this is a duplicate, feel free to redirect me!

Hello,

There are several layers of abstraction in the code. It may make the code look more complex but it is necessary as we want to support many features and model configurations. To give a complete answer, there are 4 levels of modules:

• Torch modules
  • Network parts
  • Networks
  • Models

Torch modules

These modules are low level building blocks that define how to construct, use and serialize themselves. Their functional scope is very narrow, for example computing the softmax of a tensor. Torch provides a lot of them but we might need to add new ones, for example onmt/modules/JoinReplicateTable.lua.

Network parts