OpenNMT-tf - how to use alignments and phares tables

Hi
I’m using the OpnNMT-tf repository, I could not find any extensive tutorial on how to create/use guided alignments or phrase tables for training the out of box models from catalog.py. All I could manage to find was a small section on ‘Alignments’ in this page - http://opennmt.net/OpenNMT-tf/data.html
I’m really new to this so here are couple of queries I have -
What’s the best way to start using/generating alignments and/or phrase tables. ?
I have a domain specific phrases both in source and target language that I want to model to use while training, how do I add them to the training.

Any guidance is appreciated.

Sorry if this is a duplicate question, as I have not used Lua or other repos from OpenNMT before.

Thanks !

Mohammed Ayub

Hi,

The alignment file can be produced with fast_align for example:

Then, you just need to extend the configuration to enable guided alignment:

data:
  train_alignments: train-alignment.txt

params:
  guided_alignment_type: ce
  guided_alignment_weight: 1

Regarding phrase tables, the documentation does not mention this feature so that is something you need to handle on your side using the alignments that are returned by the model.

Thanks @guillaumekln .

Where can I see all available params associated with ‘train_alignments’ , so I can use different types etc…

For phrase tables, if I’m reading it correctly -

• This functionality is in other repositories (With the ‘-phrase_table’ option) but its not yet implemented in OpenNMT-tf
  • To return the alignment history what params do I need to set (assuming I’m using one of the out of the box models like Transformer / NMTBig etc. from catalog.py) ?

Appreciate your help !

Mohammed Ayub

I’m not sure which params you are referring to. The guided_alignment_* options are the only ones that are related to train_alignments.

It is already returned by the model, it then depends how you use it: