OpenNMT on Python in Windows: Not working

Hi all, I managed to get OpenNMT working on a virtual Ubuntu machine, but now I’d like to leverage my GPU’s (SLI) as 40 hours of training time is stretching things a bit.

I’ve got Python working on Windows and even got Tensorflow installed and working. My last obstacle is installing OpenNMT on Python.

pip install URL
or
pip install opennmt-tf

does not work. Please see the attached screenshot.

How exactly do I go about this? I need to make sure the package is installed in Python 3.6. Please be precise: I’m a total noob when it comes to non-Windows stuff and the path names and directory chaos are confusing me.

Thank you very much in advance!

Hello,

You should install Git for Windows in order to retrieve OpenNMT-tf. It is not available via pip for now.

I tried that before. It does seem to install opennmt, but all I see in the Python27/Lib/site-packages/opennmt directory is six files (__init, config and constants.py/pyc). There’s no bin/main or anything similar. One thing that worries me: is this the right location, as this needs to run on Python 36 and not 27? And where have all the files gone?

Sorry for being a noob. I’m trying really hard.

Could you try the following:

1. Open Git Bash
  2. Type:
git clone https://github.com/OpenNMT/OpenNMT-tf.git
cd OpenNMT-tf
python -m bin.main -h

Right now, OpenNMT-tf expects the user to use it from its own directory.

One step closer! But it seems I need to choose between running at the Python prompt or the Windows prompt and can’t have my cake and eat it. Please see the attached screenshot. As you can see, Python is there.

P.S. Tensorflow is there when I use import tensorflow as tf in the Python prompt.

So my guess is that I need to use import opennmt as nmt or something like that in the Python prompt. From there, how do I get access to commands like train?

So python is 2.7 but py is 3.6. This is confusing.

As you installed TensorFlow for Python 3, you should: